A Beautiful Promise

Here on my blog, “Ohh, did you know?” I like to get real. I like to give exposure to the mysteries of the world.

There is one mystery many claim to not understand. They ridicule and mock people who make one decision. This decision is one I have made. Abstinence.

Ohh, did you know less than 3% of Americans wait until marriage to have sex?

Though this may seem like small percentage (and the number continues to drop), according to Waiting Till Marriage

that represents nearly 10,000,000 successful waiters-till-marriage.  That’s ten million people (alive right now in the US alone) who waited, found love, got married, then had sex for the first time after they were married.

On July 4, 2010, I asked my dad to take me to get a purity ring and on that day I promised God, my family, and myself that I would wait until marriage. Six years later, and I still have the same purity ring and the same promise.

Many people look at me like I’m crazy or laugh after asking what my “TRUE LOVE WAITS” ring actually means. Surprisingly, it doesn’t bother me. I am confident in my promise. I am confident in who I am and who the Lord is shaping me to be.

This article is in no way degrading to those who choose otherwise, it is just me standing up against those who are against me… and my decision.

There is obvious prevention of STI/STD when choosing abstinence, but there are also emotional benefits.

According to the Abstinence Research Center

Sexually active girls are more than three times more likely to be depressed than girls who are not. Sexually active teenage boys are eight times more likely to attempt suicide than boys who are not sexually active.

Maybe that statistic is on account of heartbreak or abandonment, but I would rather not get physically attached to someone until the official bond of marriage is set in place.

One of my favorite reasons behind the choice of abstinence is worded perfectly by Your Life Counts

You will know that the person you are with, is with you for YOU. Your personality, your interests, and all of the great things about you besides sexuality.

I am never having to wonder if I am being used or if the person is with me for the right reasons. Whether they have chosen to wait or not, if they decide to comply with my promise, I know there is something special about them. Not many guys would agree with such a request.

It makes life less stressful and more meaningful.

Abstinence isn’t always for everyone… and that’s OK. But if you find someone strong enough to not give in to societies expectations, you’ve found a gem.

Now, what if you were the gem?

Leave a Reply

